Taking it Back To Basics….Result A PR!

Last week on Wednesday, Dean and I went back to basics for our session.  We were contemplating what would come up in the Crossfit Open workouts, so we worked on kettlebell swings and push ups.

When we were working on the push ups, I did 4 strict push ups.  Than I did some on the knees.  He was surprised that I could do strict push ups. I can but not fast and not that many.  We than did push ups on a ballistic box. Than we moved to a 24 inch box.  Dean ensured me to not get discouraged because we would be taking steps back.  He reassured me that I would be getting stronger in this process.

The funny thing is I never got discouraged during this process.  I understand it.  I’m actually happy about it.  Happy about going backwards…YUP! That may not make sense to some, but it really helps me.  I trust Dean like I do the rest of the coaches at ACF/CCP.  They have our best interest at heart.  Dean told me that I was to do push ups with the box for the next 2 weeks.  I felt it in my shoulders the next day more than I have in the past with doing push ups.  I felt good  in knowing that I was a little sore and I went back to square 1. 

Today was the first day that  I did push ups since last week.  We did 10 rounds of 15 deadlifts and 15 hand release push ups.  We had 20 minutes.  Now we last did this WOD on January 20, and I did 75# and didn’t finish in the 15 minute time cap.  I wouldn’t quit and stayed and finished that day. 

Today I went up to 85# on the dead lifts.  I did the push ups “Dean” style.  I took 3 minutes off of my time! 3 minutes!! That’s crazy! If this is only what happens with going to back to basics, after a few days,  what will happen after 2 weeks?

Have you thought about going back to basics???

Leave a Reply

