Into the Mirror

What is your self-image?

Do you have negative self talk with yourself?  Do you have positive self talk? What’s the effect of having negative and/or positive self talk with yourself.

There are days where I know myself and I have negative self talk.  I see myself in the mirror and I’m disgusted.  I don’t see the progress that I’ve made.  I see how far I have to go, not how far I’ve come.  Having this negative talk with myself, especially early in the AM, can completely ruin my entire day.  It can literally send my day into a complete downward spiral.  BUT….

When you have positive self talk with yourself, it can have the opposite effect.  I can think I’m as thin as the college students that I work with.  I can be proud of all of my successes.  I can be 110% on track with crossfit and food.  So what causes me to have negative self talk?

A lot of it for me, goes back to what I see in the mirror.  Do i see the muscles that are forming in my arms? Do I know that I’m down a lot? Can I see myself as lean and strong? it takes a long to adjust to what I see. I can’t see myself getting smaller all the time and then I try on a pair of pants, I didn’t know when I would fit into them, and they fit! The best thing for me is to look at older pictures on me.  I recently looked at some pictures from less than a year ago and I couldn’t believe what I saw.  I have a picture of myself from probably 14 or 15 years ago.  I always look at to see where I want to go.  It was always my goal picture.  Now my goal is to continue to be healthier but stronger too.

I know that I still have a way to go to reach my goals.  But I know that when you have positive self talk, you will reach your success sooner.

Take a look in the mirror and what do you see?

Leave a Reply

